Baku publishes "black list". The Government of Azerbaijan has declared 335 individuals, including MPs and diplomats, persona non grata
04 August 2013

The government of Azerbaijan has published the list of 335 persons which it says have been declared personal non-grata for having visited Nagorno-Karabakh. A government spokesperson said that "the persons violated Azerbaijan's legislation and law on 'State border', and disrespected the territorial integrity and sovereignty of our country."

Amongst those on the list are members of parliament from Russia, Britain, Germany, France, as well as several other European countries and others from as far away as Australia and Uruguay. Included in the list is the former European Union Special Representative for the South Caucasus, the Swedish diplomat Peter Semenby. Also on the list are a number of famous artists and entertainers who have visited Nagorno-Karabakh in recent years.


photo: The Presidential Administration building in Baku.