Sargsyan signs plan of action for integration of Armenia into Customs Union
25 December 2013

The President of Armenia, Serzh Sargsyan has signed a declaration on a plan of action for integrating Armenia into the Customs Union and Common Economic Area of the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan and Russian Federation.

A statement by Sargsyan's office stated that the declaration outlines the support of Armenia and the three existing members of the Customs Union, to deepening integration processes between Armenia and the Customs Union and Common Economic Area member states, as well as acknowledging the necessity to further develop mutually beneficial economic cooperation between Armenia and the Customs Union and Common Economic Area member states,as well as supporting the intent of the Republic of Armenia to become a full member of the Common Economic Area.

The signing took place at the end of a meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council attended by President Putin of Russia, President Nazarbayev of Kazakhstan and President Lushenka of Belarus which took place in Moscow on 24 December.

At the end of the meeting Russian President Vladimir Putin said that he expected that the work for the setting up of the Eurasian Economic Union will be concluded in 2014 and that the Union will start working in 2015.

source: with agencies

photo: President Sargsyan signing a declaration on Armenia's accession into the Customs Union and the Eurasian Economic Union in Moscow on 24 December 2013. (picture courtesy of the Press Office of the President of the Republic of Armenia)