Irakli Kobakhidze elected new Chairman of Georgian Parliament
18 November 2016

The Georgian Parliament convened for the first time on Friday after parliamentary elections held last month which resulted in a landslide victory for the Georgian Dream party.

Today's parliamentary session opened with an address by the president of Georgia, Giorgi Margvelashvili. The Chairman of the Central Elections Commission, Tamar Zhvania then read the results of the elections and the new MPs were sworn in.

Parliament elected its senior officials. The new Chairman of Parliament is Irakli Kobakhidze who was one of the promiment leaders of the Georgian Dream party during the elections. The new First Vice Chairman of Parliament is Tamar Chugoshvili.

The MPs will be organised in the parliament in five factions. The Georgian Dream majority consists of 116 members and is led by Archil Talakvadze. Two factions were set up within the majority: Georgian Dream and Georgian Dream – Entrepreneurs.

The parliamentary minority consists of the National Movement members. They will have two factions: the National Movement faction, which will be led by Nika Melia, and National Movement – Progress, which will be led by Elene Khoshtaria. 

Another faction in the Parliament will be the Patriots of Georgia, which includes 6 MPs and will be led by Giorgi Lomaia.

Five Vice speakers were also elected: Giorgi Volsky, Zviad Dzidziguri, Ilia Nakashidze, Irma Inashvili and Sergi Kapanadze.

source: with agencies

photo: Irakli Kobakhidze