Azerbaijan Deputy Foreign Minister on rare visit to Yerevan
27 June 2018

The Ministerial Meeting of the Black Sea Economic Co-operation Organisation (BSEC) opened on Wednesday morning in the Armenian capital, Yerevan. Delegations from all the BSEC member states, including Azerbaijan and Turkey, are present at the meeting.

The Azerbaijan delegation is led by Deputy Foreign Minister Mahmud Mamad Guliev. It is very rare for Azerbaijani government delegations to visit Yerevan. Under the rules of procedure of BSEC the chairmanship moves by rotation among member states in alphabetical order, and Azerbaijan will take over the chairmanship from Armenia during the meeting.

Armenia's Deputy Foreign Minister, Garen Nazarian and BSEC Secretary General, Michael Christides, are expected to deliver a joint press conference.

The member states of BSEC are Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine.


photo: The opening session of the Ministerial Meeting of the Black Sea economic Co=-operation platform in Yerevan on 27 June 2018 (picture courtesy of Armenpress, Yerevan)