The Intergovernmental Council of Eurasian Economic Union meets in Yerevan
30 April 2019

This morning (30 April), the Intergovernmental Council of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) gathered in Armenia’s capital, Yerevan, as part of a regular meeting.During today’s meeting, the members will be presented with a Eurasian Economic Commission report regarding the creation of a digital ecosystem of Eurasian trade. The participants are reportedly discussing a total of 13 issues, including the implementation of the EAEU digital agenda, and the deconstruction of trade barriers. The delegations of the five EAEU countries – Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Russia – are being led or attended by their respective Prime Ministers.

Today’s meeting follows another yesterday by the Eurasian Economic Commission Council, chaired by Deputy Prime Minister of Armenia, Mher Grigoryan. During yesterday’s meeting, participants reportedly discussed issues ranging from free trade agreements with Serbia and Singapore, to the EAEU’s agenda for digitisation.

The EAEU is an economic union, which includes over 180 million people between its five member states. In 2019, the EAEU is being chaired by Armenia.

source: with agencies

(picture courtesy of